Monday, 10 November 2014

DRS to be used in Cricket World Cup 2015

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that Decision Review System (DRS) will be used during the Cricket World Cup 2015. The DRS was first used in an ICC event during the 2011 World Cup. The Decision Review System will be used in all 49 matches of the tournament

The system was officially launched for the first time when New Zealand played Pakistan in their own den in a Test series in 2009. It came into force in ODIs in 2011. Since DRS has come into force, there have been amendments made especially, with regard to LBW protocols.

Some of the other key elements of the playing conditions, based on the Standard ODI Match Playing Conditions for the World Cup are:

1) There will be reserve days in the knock-out phase only.

2) There will be no super over in tied matches in the knock-out phase. In case of a tied quarter-final and semi-final, the side finishing in the higher position in the group stage will progress. If the final is tied or if the match is a no-result, then the teams will be declared joint winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment